Twentieth anniversary of first Māori Studies PhDs

May 7, 2020

Taken after the conferment of the degree of Doctor of Philosophy in Māori Studies on 15 December 2000. This was the first time this degree was awarded by Massey University. The photograph shows, from left to right, Dr Monty Soutar, Chancellor Morva Croxson, Dr Brendon Puketapu, the Minister of Māori Affairs the Hon Parekura Horomia, Dr Taiarahia Black and Vice-Chancellor James McWha. Photographer John Waldon

This year, it is twenty years since Massey University awarded its first degrees of Doctor of Philosophy in Māori Studies.

The first three PhDs in Maori Studies – Dr Taiarahia Black, Dr Monty Soutar and Dr Te Tiwha Puketapu – were awarded their degrees at a ceremony held on 15 December 2000 at Te Pūtahi-ā-Toi on the Manawatū campus.

See photos of the event in Tāmiro, our digital archive: Māori Studies Graduation 2000

Dr Black’s thesis was the first in the world to be written entirely in Māori. Read more about the three PhD theses in this Massey News article.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

    Search posts